An Education in Elementary, Middle, and High School Bloggers

Education blogs are everywhere! I had already explored many primary -specific blogs thanks to Pinterest before this class, but was looking forward to the task of expanding my range for my future in media. These bloggers were a great introduction to their varying grade levels- check them out for yourself!

I chose to highlight Teaching is Elementary as my elementary education blog thanks to author Nancy Carroll’s enthusiasm for technology. I was originally drawn in by her eye-catching Glogsters. She has linked to one on her “About Me” and she shares both teacher and student-created Glogsters on her Favorite Resources page.  This mix of shared work is consistent throughout the blog and is incredibly helpful as Carroll explains her projects. She is able to give tips as she explains how she incorporates each tool and also shows photos of students at work and a finished product in most of her posts.

I think this mix of work widens the possibilities for use! I could share the student work samples as examples for my own students. Carroll also includes many other professional resources that would be helpful tools for colleagues. As I worked on my own project, I found Carroll’s link to her “Begin2Blog” site on the My Other Websites tab to be a great resource; one that I’d happily share with teachers as an encouragement to get started in the blogging world.

I also found lots of resources that I can start using right away (one of the staples for me when deciding to follow a blog)! I currently use SCOOT games in my classroom of first graders, so this post was a great, timely resource. I also appreciate the link to TeachersPayTeachers, a site that I’ve found incredibly user-friendly. Having bloggers like Carroll recommend tools like these that they’ve already used is a great time saver that keeps me coming back to check on their posts regularly!

Making It As a Middle School Teacher was my first exploration into the middle school level of blogging. Although author Michelle Lundy does not post as regularly as some of the other bloggers I follow, her posts are very good at pulling in resources from other educators. This one allowed me to get to know some other middle school specific blogs with convenient click throughs.

I also appreciated the system she uses to organize her posts by subject. Math, Science and Social Studies each have their own tab full of projects she’s tried out in her own classroom. This post pulls in a math topic, a kickstarter promotion, and a give-away! Lundy’s organized set up allows the extras like the give-aways and links to other blogs to be helpful additions rather than distractions. Plus, who doesn’t love a giveaway contest?

Within these sections, there are also many resources that could be adapted for sharing with a wider audience. I browsed her Social Studies section and found an idea that could be applied to any grade level, and really any subject: part of her Thrifty Thursday theme. Ideas that everyone can use are easy to share in a newsletter format. I’d eagerly include a link to Lundy’s blog in a suggestion or tip newsletter to my future colleagues!

My final feat in blog exploration was a high school level blog: the area farthest from my own experience. I found Nicholas Provenzano’s blog The Nerdy Teacher to be an educational and entertaining read! Provenzano currently teaches and works as a technology education consultant, but his posts vary on everything from designing your classroom’s physical space to reviewing professional conferences he attends.

This post reminded me of our digital footprint conversations in our class discussion boards. We’ve all been brainstorming ways to create strong digital footprints for ourselves, and with this post Provenzano shares a hobby, creates a hashtag, and creates some positive buzz about an event he’s participating in! I am still working on ways to add personal touches to my digital footprint in professional ways, and this post inspired me to share some of my running experiences!

In addition to making connections to our classwork, I was able to connect Provenzano’s posts to current conversations I’m having with fellow educators. The education field is buzzing right now with the idea of incorporating technology in the classroom, so this post that shares a clip from Provenzano’s YouTube channel would be something that could provide more information for curious teachers, or give some perspective to teachers who are unsure of where they stand on all of the possibilities of technology in learning environments.

Educator blogs are everywhere, and the more I read, the more I’m inspired to add to my own blog! Is a YouTube channel in my future? Will I be hosting my own “linky party” sometime soon? I still have a lot to learn- but getting to know these educators through their blogs has certainly motivated me to improve my own!

2 thoughts on “An Education in Elementary, Middle, and High School Bloggers

  1. Hi Ashley,
    I love the Teaching is Elementary blog. I followed your link to “My other Websites” and not only found instructions for advice, but really neat presentations ideas for using Voice Thread. Did you see that amazing “advice from bloggers” Voicethread she created? I will definitely start following this one for technology ideas for my future media center.
    I like the Nerdy Teacher blog too, especially because it is from a male teacher’s perspective. So many of the blogs I came across were from female teachers. I was drawn into the cartoons, quotes and pictures he inserts periodically too. Cool resource.
    Great post Ashley–flows smoothly and you include some SLM relevant links throughout! Nicely done.

  2. Hi Kate,
    Thanks for the feedback!
    I agree with your comment on including a male blogger just because there are so many female teacher bloggers: if I plan to share something with a class, I want the guys to feel represented as well! I really enjoyed looking into these, and as you said, found so many great resources for later use!

Leave a Reply

